Better Broadband Better Lives

Eshoo Named Ranking Member of Communications, Tech and Internet Subcommittee

in Net Neutrality by

WASHINGTON, January 20, 2011 - The House Energy and Commerce Committee Democrats released subcommittee assignments this evening, naming Rep. Anna Eshoo (CA-14) as ranking member of the Communications, Technology and Internet subcommittee for the 112th Congress.  The subcommittee holds legislative jurisdiction over all matters involving telecommunications, including oversight of the FCC, cable, broadcast, voice telephony and the Internet.

Eshoo steps into the top Democratic spot after a swing in party control in the House. Rick Boucher, Chair of the subcommittee during the 111th Congress, lost his reelection bid last November.  The California Democrat, who beat out fellow subcommittee member, Bobby Rush (IL-1), represents tech-heavy Silicon Valley and is a co-founding member and Co-Chair of the Congressional Internet Caucus.  She won the post by a 14-9 count in a secret ballot vote of committee members.

“I’m grateful to my colleagues for giving me the honor to lead the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology,” Eshoo said through a statement released on her website on Wednesday. “My Congressional District, home to Silicon Valley, is the innovation center of the world, and the policies we shape can advance America’s competitiveness and job growth.”

Eshoo is widely seen as a counterbalance to the subcommittee's new Chair, Greg Walden (OR-2), who is a former broadcaster.  A veteran of the subcommittee, she is a strong supporter of Net Neutrality, which the GOP has roundly criticized.

Jonathan began his career as a journalist before turning his focus to law and policy. He is an attorney licensed in Texas and the District of Columbia and has worked previously as a political reporter, in political campaign communications and on Capitol Hill. He holds a B.A. in Journalism from the University of Washington and a J.D. from Villanova Law School, where he focused his studies on Internet and intellectual property law and policy. He lives in Washington, D.C., where he roots for Seattle sports teams and plays guitar in his free time.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Net Neutrality

Go to Top