Better Broadband Better Lives

NARUC Names new Chair of Committee on Telecommunications

in Broadband Updates by

The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners has named a new Chairman of the Committee on Telecommunications. John Burke from the Vermont Public Service Board will replace Ray Baum of Oregon. Baum has taken up a position on the House Energy and Commerce Committee Subcommittee on Communications and Technology as a Senior Policy Advisor.

Burke joined the Vermont Public Service Board in 2001. He also serves on Federal-State Joint Boards on Separations and Universal Service.

“The Telecommunications Committee is a critical forum for State regulators to analyze and comprehend the always changing communications sector,” Commissioner Burke said. “From universal service reform, consumer protection, and now smart-grid issues, our members must be involved to make sure that new developments and technologies work for the benefit of consumers. I look forward to working with my colleagues, particularly Commissioner [Maureen] Harris, whom I’m grateful is remaining as Vice Chair of the committee.”

“Few industries have undergone the tremendous and sweeping reforms that the Telecommunications industry has experienced,” President Clark said. “Commissioner Burke will bring an innovative and balanced perspective to these issues, and I am grateful for his service. I also want to thank Chairman Baum for his dedication to this committee. NARUC and our nation’s consumers are better off because of his leadership.”

NARUC has been an important ally of the Federal Communications Commission in their support of the Open Internet.

Rahul Gaitonde has been writing for since the fall of 2009, and in May of 2010 he became Deputy Editor. He was a fellow at George Mason University’s Long Term Governance Project, a researcher at the International Center for Applied Studies in Information Technology and worked at the National Telecommunications and Information Administration. He holds a Masters of Public Policy from George Mason University, where his research focused on the economic and social benefits of broadband expansion. He has written extensively about Universal Service Fund reform, the Broadband Technology Opportunities Program and the Broadband Data Improvement Act

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Latest from Broadband Updates

Go to Top