Connect with us

Broadband's Impact

Tuesday’s Breakfast Club: The President’s and Congress’ New Broadband Agenda




WASHINGTON, Wednesday, January 9th, 2013 – The broadband policy news and events service will hold its January 2013 Broadband Breakfast Club event:

“The President’s and Congress’ Broadband Agenda on Tuesday, January 15th, 2013 at Clyde’s of Gallery Place, 707 7th St. NW, Washington, DC 20001 from 8 am – 10 am.

Representative Anna Eshoo (D-California) will keynote the event.

Panelists confirmed are:

  • Graham Dufault, Counsel, Rep. Lee Terry (R-Nebraska)
  • David Grossman, Senior Technology Policy Advisor, Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-California)

American and Continental breakfasts are included. The program begins shortly after 8:30 a.m. Tickets to the event are $45.00 plus a small online fee.

Registration is available at

The Broadband Breakfast Club is sponsored by Comcast, Google, ICF International (ICFI), the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) and US Telecom.

The Broadband Breakfast Club series meets on the third Tuesday of each month (except for August and December).

The Broadband Breakfast Club schedule can be viewed at

Read our website for broadband news and event write-ups

Videos of our previous events are available at:

Keynote Speaker:

Representative Anna Eshoo (D-California)

With a demonstrated ability to get high tech legislation passed and a leader on issues affecting telecommunications and the Internet, Anna G. Eshoo has proven herself as an effective legislator for one of the most illustrious Congressional districts in the nation. Rep. Eshoo was sworn in as a Member of the U.S. House of Representatives in January 1993 after serving on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors for 10 years. She has served on the powerful House Energy and Commerce Committee since 1995, and she is currently Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Communications and Technology. Rep. Eshoo also co-chairs the Congressional Internet Caucus, the NextGen 9-1-1 Caucus and the House Medical Technology Caucus, and serves as Vice Chair of the 21st Century Health Care Caucus. She has fought to preserve a free and open Internet, bring broadband to every American household, and spur investment in the new technologies that will create jobs and shape tomorrow’s economy. Her commitment to ensuring the U.S. continues to have the world’s leading high tech sector for generations to come is unwavering.


Graham Dufault , Counsel, Rep. Lee Terry (R-Nebraska)

Graham Dufault serves as Counsel to Representative Lee Terry (R-NE). Rep. Terry is Chairman of the House Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade, and Member of the House Subcommittee on Communications and Technology. Previously, Dufault was an assistant director of government relations for Knowledge Universe, a for-profit educational services firm. Subsequently, he was a legislative correspondent for Senator Gordon Smith of Oregon, handling issues ranging from banking and judiciary to communications and technology. Dufault holds a J.D. from George Mason University School of Law, where he concentrated in communications law and clerked with the Federal Communications Commission for about ten months in the Wireless and Wireline Bureaus.

David Grossman, Senior Technology Policy Advisor, Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-California)

J. David Grossman serves as Senior Technology Policy Advisor to Representative Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA), Ranking Member of the House Subcommittee on Communications and Technology and one of three Members of Congress representing the Silicon Valley region of California. Previously, Grossman served as Technology Counsel to the Democratic staff of the House Small Business Committee. From 2006-2009, he worked for the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA). Grossman began his career as a research analyst at Kellogg, Huber, Hansen, Todd, Evans & Figel, P.L.L.C., a law and consulting firm specializing in telecommunications. Grossman holds a Master’s Degree in Public Policy from George Mason University and a BA in Political Communication from George Washington University’s School of Media and Public Affairs.

Background on is in its fifth year of hosting monthly breakfast forums in Washington on internet policy issues. These events are on the record, open to the public and consider a wide range of viewpoints. Our Broadband Breakfast Club meets on the third tuesday of every month (except for August and December).

Our elected official keynotes have included Representatives Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), John Conyers (D-MI), Diane Watson (D-CA), Joe Barton (R-TX) and Rick Boucher (D-VA).

Our agency and commission official keynotes have included Deputy Undersecretary for Agriculture Dallas Tonsager, Julius Genachowski, Chairman FCC; Jonathan Adelstein, RUS Administrator; Julie Brill, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission; Anna Gomez, Deputy Assistant Secretary NTIA.

Our moderated discussion panels are comprised of leaders from a wide variety of organizations including government, industry, law firms, academia, nonprofit, journalism and many others.

Our audiences are equally diverse.

The keynote speech is followed by a moderated panel discussion in which audience participation is encouraged.

For More Information Contact:

Sylvia Syracuse

Director of Marketing and Events



Signup for Broadband Breakfast

Get twice-weekly Breakfast Media news alerts.
* = required field