Connect with us

Broadband's Impact

Rural Telecommunications Congress Launches Webcast Series Focusing on Rural Broadband Innovation

Drew Clark

Published

on

MONTROSE, Colorado, June 5, 2019 – The Rural Telecommunications Congress, a 22-year-old grassroots organization advocating for better broadband in Rural America, has announced its national “Fueling the Fire of Rural Innovation” webcast series.

The free webcast series begins with an event in Montrose, Colorado (the county seat of Montrose County), on Tuesday, July 2, 2019. A free national webcast will take place at 1 p.m. ET, or 11 a.m. MT, and will be live-streamed on the website of the Rural Telecommunications Congress.

Montrose is a great example of a community that deliberately sought out better broadband, and used the leadership of local government – and the surrounding community – to bring gigabit-level networks to the community.

The event will highlight individuals, businesses and civic groups that have played an active role in the deployment and use of broadband. As the president of the Rural Telecommunications Congress, I’ll travel to Montrose and host the event on July 2.

Those who wish to get a taste of what Montrose has done to successfully build and utilize broadband capacity in their rural community need only to register and watch. They’ll be able to comment and submit questions using the hashtag #ruralinnovation.

Indeed, the purpose of the webcast series that will launch in Montrose on July 2, 2019, is to highlight the importance that broadband plays in #ruralinnovation – and to use success stories like this one from Colorado’s Western Slope.

The mini-“town hall” style event will be live-streamed from the Montrose Visitor Center/Council Chambers at 107 S Cascade Ave. in Montrose. The event will begin on July 2, 2019, at 1 p.m. ET/Noon CT/11 a.m. MT/10 a.m. PT.

While we anticipate that these webcasts will be beneficial as an organizing tool for the rural community, there is no need to travel to Montrose to attend!

Instead, we aim to start a national conversation about how better broadband empowers Rural America. All live webcasts will be free for the attending national audience. We are planning further events in September and November 2019.

Questions about the event? Post them in the comments section of the registration pageJoin us online by registering to attend the online webinar!

Popular